DJ Spooky – The Secret Song (2009): “

01. Intro – The War Of Ideas
02. 5 Million Ways To Kill A CEO feat. Boots Riley
03. Multiphonic feat. Rob Swift
04. Dazed And Confused
05. Measure By Measure
06. The Secret Song
07. Myxamatosis
08. Where Im At feat. Zimbabwe Legit & Mike G
09. L’Autre
10. Heliocentric
11. Azadi (The New Complexity) feat. Sussan Deyhim & The Post-Modern Jazz Quartet
12. Composite Refraction Drum Solo
13. Pax Per Fidem
14. Iago’s Lament feat. Vijay Iyer
15. Known Unknowns feat. Thurston Moore & Mike Ladd
16. Salt Satyagraha
17. Point – Counterpoint
18. No Quarter Dub
19. Cognitiva
20. Duality
21. Bionic Dub (Amazon MP3 Exclusive)


‘The Secret Song– isn’t really an album: it’s a manifesto about the place of history in our modern collaged, scrambled, sampla-delic to the core, mega info overloaded digital culture. With references stretching from Thorstein Veblen’s ‘Theory of the Leisure Class’ and John Maynard Keynes classic in the field of economics ‘The General Theory of Employment, Interest, and Money’ over to hip hop’s relationship to psychoanalysis and a la Edward Bernay’s concept of the ‘manufacture of consent’ – DJ Spooky’s new album is a groundbreaking meditation on hip hop and electronic musics relationship to philosophy, economics, and the science of sound in a world where the steady drumbeat of the financial meltdown has made music the last refuge of young people with less and less time and money. DJ Spooky’s peer group of artists like DJ Krush, DJ Shadow, Cut Chemist, RJD2, DJ Logic, Amon Tobin, and Coldcut have all played with the idea of concept albums. With ‘The Secret Song’ DJ Spooky looks to bands like Nine Inch Nails, and Radiohead for inspiration. As DJ Spooky likes to say ‘people – it’s ALL about economics.’ Dig?’ More info on MySpace

(Via Beatbox Radio Show.)