Okkerville River – The Stage Names Demos: “

Okkerville River – The Stage Names Demos
Studio Recordings @128

These recordings are the solo demos of each of the songs from the proper album and was limited to only 1500 copies.

Formed in 1998 in Austin, TX, Okkervil River steadily expanded their sound into a textured, dynamic brand of indie rock, replete with folk-rock influences and wide instrumentation. Vocalist Will Robison Sheff and drummer Seth Warren first rubbed shoulders as high-school students in Meriden, NH, a town they eventually left to attend different colleges. The two reconvened several years later in Austin, however, where they assembled Okkervil River with the help of bassist Zachary Thomas. The group recorded several EPs as a trio, including 2000’s Stars Too Small to Use, before crossing paths with multi-instrumentalist Jonathan Meiburg at a local bar. Meiburg soon joined the band, and Okkervil River made their first big splash by playing the SXSW festival in March 2000.

Track List:
1. Our Life Is Not A Movie Or Maybe
2. Unless It’s Kicks
3. A Hand To Take Hold Of The Scene
4. Savannah Smiles
5. Plus Ones
6. A Girl In Port
7. You Can’t Hold The Hand Of A Rock And Roll Man
8. Title Track
9. John Allyn Smith Sails


(Via Voodoo Wagon.)